A Pocket Full of Miracles

Released: September 30, 1970
Label: Tamla Records

A Pocket Full of Miracles is a 1970 album by Motown Records R&B group The Miracles, (AKA “Smokey Robinson & The Miracles”) issued on its Tamla subsidiary label, one of three albums the group released that year. This album charted at #56 on the Billboard pop albums chart, and reached the top ten of the magazine’s R&B albums chart, peaking at #10. It was released on September 30 of that year. Hit singles on the album included “Point It Out” and the topical Ashford & Simpson written-and-produced song “Who’s Gonna Take the Blame”, a sad, dark song about a girl that is turned out as a prostitute (unusually serious lyric content for The Miracles). Also included is the charting flip side “Darling Dear”, B-side of “Point It Out”, which reached #100 on the Billboard pop chart, and spawned a cover version by The Jackson Five.