Four in Blue

Released: November 3, 1969
Label: Tamla Records

Four In Blue is a 1969 album by the Motown R&B group The Miracles, issued on the label’s Tamla Records subsidiary in the U.S., and the Tamla-Motown label elsewhere in the world, and was the final Miracles album of the 1960s. It reached #78 on the Billboard pop album chart, and reached the Top 10 of Billboard’s R&B Album chart, peaking at #3, despite the fact that no singles were released from this album in the U.S. or the UK.

The album takes its name from the blue silk tuxedos that The Miracles (Bobby Rogers, Pete Moore, Smokey Robinson and Ronnie White), wear on its cover. Although not on the cover, Miracles members Claudette Robinson and Marv Tarplin also contributed to this album.

The album is a combination of cover versions and original material, written by the Miracles’ lead singer Smokey Robinson and Motown staff songwriters, such as Al Cleveland, Terry Johnson, Holland–Dozier–Holland, Deke Richards, Ashford & Simpson and Richard Morris. Cover songs in this collection included The Beatles’ “Hey Jude”, The Supremes’ “My World Is Empty Without You”, The Righteous Brothers’ “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin” and The 5th Dimension’s “California Soul”.

The album was released on CD in 2001 in a two-in-one set with the Miracles’ album, Time Out for Smokey Robinson & The Miracles. The CD release contains an alternative mix of “Don’t Say You Love Me” which contains finished background vocals.