Back to Albums

Warm Thoughts

Released: 1980-02-25

Label: Motown


Warm Thoughts is a 1980 album by Smokey Robinson. It features the top 40 hit, “Let Me Be the Clock”. The album was arranged by Reginald “Sonny” Burke. This album also featured the semi-autobiographical tune “Wine, Women and Song”, which proved to be the closest thing to a Miracles reunion that occurred in the 1980s…with Smokey doing a duet with his then wife, former Miracle Claudette Robinson, and Miracle Marv Tarplin, with whom he shared songwriting credits, on guitar. The song “Travellin’ Thru'” was written by Smokey’s real-life sister, Rose Ella Jones, and two songs written by Robinson with fellow Motown artist, Stevie Wonder, and singer, songwriter, and former Starsky and Hutch star, David Soul. This album was a huge success, reaching the Top 20 of The Billboard 200 Pop Album chart,peaking at #14, and the Top 10 of Billboard’s R&B Album Chart, peaking at #4.

Back to Albums